Skip to main content

Faculty Services: Services for Faculty

A guide to services for Faculty at Texas Tech University School of Law Library

Research Support

Law Librarians are ready to assist faculty with their research endeavors. The following research support
services are provided to faculty:

  • Finding books and articles
  • Compiling bibliographies on any topic
  • Assistance with database research
  • Individual training sessions on particular databases
  • Developing research guides, pathfinders, or other materials for a specific area of law
  • Monitoring and informing faculty of current developments in news, technology, databases, etc.
  • Tutoring faculty research assistants in legal research
  • Answering any reference or research questions

Teaching & Curriculum Support

In addition to presenting on materials available in the Law Library, the Law Librarians are available to provide classroom presentations on effective, efficient legal research techniques. Law Librarians can also assist faculty members with Teaching and Curriculum Support by:

  • Teaching specific legal or scholarly research to seminar courses
  • Developing bibliographies or research guides for specific topics
  • Coordinating with setting up a web course page (i.e., TWEN, CALI, Blackboard, etc.)
  • Giving customized library tours to students

Document Delivery & Pick-Up

The Law Library offers first-class document delivery service to faculty members. Faculty can request to have documents, books, DVD’s, and/or magazines delivered to their offices or mailboxes.

Faculty can request for document delivery through the Faculty Request Database or by contacting your Library Information Consultant. Individual faculty may also request resources from other libraries through interlibrary loan (ILL) services






The Law Library can also schedule to pick up books or other library materials that need to be returned. Books or library items checked-out through the University Library are returned via campus mail. In instances where you need main University Library materials returned, please provide notice three (3) business days before the due date to ensure your items are returned and processed by the due date.

Book Purchase & Collection Development

The Law Library solicits suggestions and expertise from faculty on items to add to the Law Library collection such as books, databases, collections, etc., thereby strengthening and enhancing the collection.

If there is an item that you would like the Law Library to purchase and add to the collection, please submit your request through the Faculty Request Database OR contact your Library Information Consultant

If the Law Library cannot purchase the requested item, you will be contacted immediately and your Library Information Consultant  will suggest that you request the item through interlibrary loan (ILL)

Faculty Research Series

The Law Library facilitates a training program twice per semester to keep faculty up to date on new developments in research and technology. For more information, please check your email, see the Law Library's blog, The Reporter, or the Law Library monthly newsletter.

Westlaw, Lexis Advance, Bloomberg Law Registration

Faculty who need to register for Westlaw, Lexis Advance, or Bloomberg Law usernames and passwords, please contact Associate Director Jamie Baker at jamie.baker@ttu.edu or  806-834-5792.