Skip to main content

Lexis Advance: Home

A guide to using Lexis Advance for law students, faculty, and library patrons.

About

Introduction

LexisNexis is a corporation that provides Lexis Advance, computer-assisted legal research platform. Lexis Advance gives subscribers access to LexisNexis’ databases of court opinions, statutes, court documents, and secondary materials. Lexis Advance also has additional benefits, such as Boolean searches, evaluating case authority, organizing cases by topic, and providing links to cited material. This allows for efficient and relevant research on legal issues. LexisNexis also provides limited access to Law 360, a legal news provider, to subscribers.


Lexis Advance requires a subscription. Students, Faculty, and Staff with an active eRaider account may access Lexis Advance from the TTU Law Library home page.

Lexis Advance for Law Schools

Once you have logged in you will be on the LexisNexis for Law Schools homepage. This site gives you access to Lexis Advance, web courses, online learning, and educational aids for law students.

  • Lexis Advance is the legal database research platform of LexisNexis. This is where you will search for cases and other materials located in the Lexis Advance databases.
  • Web courses use the blackboard platform to give professors an online classroom space. The use of this section will depend on your instructor.
  • Online learning give access to tutorials and videos produced by Lexis to explain the systems of Lexis Advance and help students in tasks, such as legal research.
  • Lexis also provides a number of study aids to assist students with classes and other commitments associated with law school.
  • LexisNexis also provides a rewards program. This program allows you to gain points and  spend them on various rewards.

Lexis Advance requires a subscription. Students, Faculty, and Staff with an active eRaider account may access Lexis Advance from the TTU Law Library home page.

Accessing Lexis Advance

Clicking on the "Go to Lexis Advance" button or using the search bar on the LexisNexis for Law Schools home page will bring you to the Lexis Advance database. Using the "Go to" button will bring you to the homepage of Lexis Advance, while using the search bar will bring up the search results right away.

The homepage aggregates some the commonly used features of Lexis Advance, such as the search bar, search history, etc., into once place.

Some of the highlights of the homepage are as follows:

  • Lexis Advance Research drop down menu (located at the top of the page).
  • Browse drop down menu (located at the top of the page).
  • Search bar with filter options.
  • The History drop down menu (located at the top of the page) or the History box.
  • Research folders.

The search bar allows for searching that can be narrowed by jurisdiction or with advanced terms and connectors.

  • You can begin the search with basic terms and narrow the results into the categories you are interested in.
  • Using advance search terms will narrow the results and give more useful results
  • Using the citation for a case or law journal will jump to the relevant document if it is in the database.

The browse box allows for you to narrow the database before beginning your search.

  • This feature allows to browse by source or topic before begining a seach.
  • This system allows for you to drill down to the appropriate database before beginning your search allowing for more relevant search results.

Lexis Advance requires a subscription. Students, Faculty, and Staff with an active eRaider account may access Lexis Advance from the TTU Law Library home page.

Loading