Skip to main content

Services for Attorneys and Judges: Law Library Collections

Texas Collection

The Texas Collection includes Texas legislative codes, session laws, journals, and historic compilations; administrative code and regulations; attorney general opinions; case digests; encyclopedias; form books; and municipal codes. The collection is located in two areas:

  • 1st Floor, East Wing holds frequently-used Texas legal materials.
  • 2nd Floor, East Wing holds Texas materials not included in the 1st floor collection.

Students can also access Texas Government Materials from the following sites:

New/Recent Acquistions

The New Books shelf is located in the Collaborative Commons on the 1st floor of the Law Library. New books are placed here for a few weeks before they are moved to the stacks in the Basement and 2nd floor. 

Permanent Reserves Collection

The Permanent Reserves Collection is located behind the Circulation Desk. The Permanent Reserves Collection includes:

  • Hornbooks & nutshells
  • Commercial outlines and flashcards
  • Audio and video tapes, CDs, and DVDs
  • Selected high-use loose-leaf services, treatises, and form books

Government Documents

The Law Library serves as a selective depository for U.S. government publications. You can find information on holdings of government documents using the Law Library’s online catalog.

In addition, the University Library houses a full depository, and its resources are available to law faculty. 

Microform/Microfiche

The Law Library has an extensive microform collection, which is located in the lower level basement. This collection contains archival collections of:

  • The Code of Federal Regulations
  • Federal Register
  • Congressional materials
  • United States Code Annotated
  • Superseded state statutes and selected state codes (including Texas statutes and codes) 
  • Back issues of most bar journals
  • Legal newspapers

A reader/printer/scanner is available free of charge.

General Floor Locations Quick Guide

  • 1st Floor, West Wing—Shelves most of the Law Library’s federal primary source materials, American Law Reports (ALR), Shepard’s Citations, AmJur and selected Texas materials.
     
  • 1st Floor, East Wing— Home to the Collaborative Commons study area.
     
  • 2nd Floor, West Wing—Shelves subject-specific monographs such as Supreme Court analysis/ justices, military law, Indian law, criminal law, evidence, corporate/securities, and Federal practice materials (forms, procedure, discovery), just to name a few.
     
  • 2nd Floor, East Wing—Shelves state materials including most of the Texas Collection as well as medical and international legal materials, among other subjects.
     
  • Upper Level Basement, East and West Wing—Shelves treatises, including many loose-leaf materials, arranged by subject using the Library of Congress classification scheme.
     
  • Lower Level Basement, East Wing—Shelves many non-legal and social science subjects, periodicals and law reviews arranged alphabetically by title.
     
  • Lower Level Basement, West Wing—Shelves congressional documents in Superintendent of Documents call number order. Most other government documents are shelved with the regular collection by Library of Congress classification number