The Texas Tech University School of Law Library is the largest legal information center in the area covering western Texas, eastern New Mexico, and southern Oklahoma. The Law Library and its staff serve and support the educational, instructional, and research needs of the School of Law. Check the Law Library Strategic Plan. Everyone is welcome to use the print resources of the Law Library. However, some of the Law Library's online resources (e.g., Westlaw, LexisNexis) are available only to Texas Tech Law Students and Faculty Members. If you are not a Texas Tech Law Student or Faculty Member, the Law Library offers alternatives to those sources for your use, such as LexisNexis Academic. The Law Library serves attorneys, judges, paralegals, residents of Texas and the public in general. Members of the public may:
Texas Tech University School of Law
3311 18th Street
Lubbock, TX 79409
Phone (806) 742-3990
Fax (806) 742-1629
You can also email or call the Circulation Desk:
Email: circulation.law@ttu.edu
Phone: 806-742-3957
For Reference assistance, please stop by the Circulation Desk. You can also contact the Reference Group via email, phone, or chat services.
Email: reference.law@ttu.edu
Phone: 806-742-7155
Chat: Use the "Ask a Librarian" chat feature on the Law Library's Homepage.
The Texas Collection includes Texas legislative codes, session laws, journals, and historic compilations; administrative code and regulations; attorney general opinions; case digests; encyclopedias; form books; and municipal codes. The collection is located in two areas:
Students can also access Texas Government Materials from the following sites:
The New Books shelf is located in the Collaborative Commons on the 1st floor of the Law Library. New books are placed here for a few weeks before they are moved to the stacks in the Basement and 2nd floor.
The Permanent Reserves Collection is located behind the Circulation Desk. The Permanent Reserves Collection includes:
The Law Library serves as a selective depository for U.S. government publications. You can find information on holdings of government documents using the Law Library’s online catalog. You can find more information at the Goverment Document Guide.
In addition, the University Library houses a full depository, and its resources.
The Law Library has an extensive microform collection, which is located in the lower level basement. This collection contains archival collections of:
A reader/printer/scanner is available free of charge.
Reference Law Librarians have considerable experience providing assistance to all patrons who enter the Law Library.
Reference services include instruction and assistance with:
For reference assistance, please stop by the Circulation Desk or contact us by any of the following methods from 8:30am - 4:30pm, Monday - Friday:
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) is a database providing access to newspaper articles, court cases, and other valuable primary and secondary resources.
Current students, faculty, and staff may access Nexis Uni from the TTU Main Campus Library's home page. Access is provided by TTU. Clicking on "Databases A-Z" allows the user to search databases alphabetically and reach Nexis Uni.
1. This is the Home page for Nexis Uni.
2. On the home page there are some important features. Some of the more noteworthy features are as follows:
1. Guided Search;
2. Discover Topics;
3. Search bar;
4. News search; and
5. Legal case search.
3. Doing a search for "civil rights" brings up the following search results.
Key features on the search results are as follows:
1. Sorting the results by certain parameters; and
2. Options to view, save, etc. specific documents.
From the Lubbock Airport:
From Highway 84
The Law Library provides access to library materials and services for patrons with disabilities, including those who have hearing impairment, visual impairment, mobility disabilities and learning disabilities and the Law Library building and its facilities are accessible to persons with physical disabilities.
The Law Library currently has an accessibility computer workstation with screen readers, screen magnifiers, and JAWS.
Law Library staff is happy to retrieve physical items from shelves; please ask for help at the Circulation desk (main desk at the Law Library's entrance) or call (806) 742-3957.
The Law Library is happy to help you plan your visit! Please call (806) 742-3957 for more information.
Public patrons must use a temporary password to connect to the TTU Guest wi-fi. Visit the service desk on the ground floor of the Main University Library, which is located between 15th and 18th streets, across from the Student Union Building, to obtain a guest password.