Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Determining a Document's SuDoc Number or Title
Understanding Superintendent of Documents or SuDoc Numbers:
Each government document has its own classification number that identifies it called a SuDoc number. SuDoc numbers designate the issuing agency, the office, the type of document, and the individual source. For example:
I 29.9/5: 139
- I = Department of the Interior
- 29 = National Park Service
- .9/5 = Handbooks (numbered series)
- 139 = Number of the individual circular.
(borrowed example from: http://law.upenn.libguides.com/fedgovdocs (last visited Nov. 11, 2016)
Knowing the SuDoc number of a source will help you find the document in another library should Texas Tech Law Library not have it. Contact a Reference Librarian to assist you if needed.
How to Find Government Documents
How to Locate Electronic and Print Government Documents:
All materials added to the documents collection are cataloged and inventoried on the online catalog which contains the holdings of the University Library, Law Library, and Special Collections. The public may search the online public access catalog from anywhere in the world. In addition to the online catalog, the Law Library provides access to other sources of information about government documents. These include access to the internet, where users can access all of the resources available through the FDLP, as well as other depository collections (e.g. the Regional Depository Library located elsewhere on campus).
Anyone may use the government documents collection. Print documents are located throughout the Law Library and may circulate to users with a library account. Microfiche documents are located in the Lower Basement. A reader-printer-scanner provides copies at no charge. Printing/Copying using the multifunction machines in the Law Library are available for a cost of .10/page, but most things are able to be scanned/emailed for no charge.
Law Library Location Guide
This Location Guide facilitates access to major sets of materials without call numbers. Copies of the Location Guide are available at the Circulation Desk and Reference Area.
Citing Government Documents
Basic Government Document Terms
A catalog generally is a group of publications generally on broad topics or subject areas.
A database contains data projected in various forms including maps and charts on information relating to climate, national security, and population.
A depository is a collection of various published works stored in one place.
Legal journals are scholarly works that revolve around a specific legal topic or controversy.
A Presidential Proclamation is a statement made by the President calling attention to issues of important public policy. The topics can range from health care to awareness campaigns.
A government report contains general information about a specific issue, usually including data/statistical information and recommendations.
Federal Digital System by the GPO allows users free access to search authentic, digitally signed PDFs of publications and government documents.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
The CGP is a comprehensive compilation of selected publications from government agencies, beginning with 1976. It is the online counterpart to the Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications.
Portal for official publications from all U.S. branches of U.S. government, including: congressional committee prints, congressional reports, hearing transcripts, executive agency publications, and budget and presidential materials. This source will replace FDsys eventually.
HathiTrust Digital Library
A collective repository of government publications, books, journals, dissertations, and other published and unpublished materials.
American Fact Finder
A basic data source for statistical information about the U.S.
Provides access to Federal Executive Branch datasets, including: population, education, business, health, science and technology, geography and environment and it is continually expanding into new subjects.
Statistical information from 100+ federal agencies.
Accessible data on Federal government spending beginning with FY 2000.
Find Law and Regulations
United States Code
Online version of United States Code.
CFR - Code of Federal Regulations
A full-text searchable version of "the codification of general and permanent rules, drawn up by federal departments and agencies, which are first published in the Federal Register. From the Legal Information Institute.
Covers all regulations (or rulemakings) issued by U.S. government agencies.
Texas Tech Law Library Catalog
Government Documents @ Texas Tech Law Library
Utilize this tab for direct access to Government Documents on our main website.
Law Library Catalog
The PRIMO catalog of the law library lists all of our federal depository materials in a variety of formats.
To locate print materials in the Law Library, record the call number and the location. Click on the floor plans for assistance, or as for directions from the Circulation Desk.
Finding an Agency
U.S. Government Manual (current edition)
A web version of the current edition. "As the official handbook of the Federal Government,The United States Government Manual provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. The Manual also includes information on quasi-official agencies; international organizations in which the United States participates; and boards, commissions, and committees."
Finding Court Cases
Although not comprehensive, CourtWEB contains selected opinions of selective judges of the Federal Courts who elect to make information available on this site. The database includes District and Bankruptcy Courts from multiple states.
Supreme Court of the United States: Opinions, 1991-present
An easy to use search tool for recent U.S. Supreme Court cases.
United States Courts Opinions
A joint project of the U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO) and the Administrative Office of the United States Courts to provide public access to opinions from selected U.S. appellate, district, and bankruptcy courts. The content of this collection dates back to April 2004, though searchable electronic holdings for some courts may be incomplete for the earlier time period.