LibGuides: Criminal Prosecution Seminar: Treatises & Print Resources

Criminal Law-Books of Interest

Criminal Law by Wayne R. LaFave
Call Number: KF9219 .L38 2010
ISBN: 9780314912688
Publication Date: 2010-03-18
"This Hornbook provides detailed discussion on the topics of responsibility, justification and excuse, inchoate crimes, accomplice, and liability. Attention is also given to subjects such as causation, insanity, and conspiracy." (Summary from West Academic Publishing).
Principles of Criminal Law, 2D by Wayne R. LaFave
Call Number: KF9219.3 .L34 2010
ISBN: 9780314912695
Publication Date: 2010-03-04
This Hornbook provides a concise review of core principles and concepts found within a first-year criminal law course.
Model Penal Code and Commentaries by American Law Institute
Call Number: KF 9219.A752 1980
Publication Date: 1980
Adopted in 1962 by the American Law Institute, this text contains general provisions and definitions of special crimes. The commentaries include information about states which have followed the Model Penal code in revisions of their laws.
Substantive Criminal Law by Wayne R. LaFave; Austin W. Scott
Call Number: KF 9219.L386 1986
ISBN: 9780314984036
Publication Date: 1986-05-01
“This multi-volume treatise focuses on the theoretical, rather than the ‘how-to.’ After a general introduction to the subject of criminal law, primary emphasis is given to major crimes against the person and against property. The authors try to reflect on the impact of the Model Penal Code” (summary from Yale Law Library).

Subscription Databases

Bloomberg Law: The Litigation & Dockets tab contains a webpage of Litigation Resources with links to sources such as federal and state court dockets, Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure, and state laws.

To search for cases, click on “Search All Federal and State Court Dockets.” In the search box, Browse through the Select Topic drop-down menu and choose “Criminal Law” to limit your search to criminal cases. Bloomberg Law contains sources such as American Criminal Law Review, BNA Criminal Law Reports, BNA Criminal Law Reporter, and the Journal of Criminal Law & Criminology.

Lexis Advance: Browse Topics—Criminal Law and Procedure

Browse Sources—Texas—Search Criminal Law

Westlaw: Under Browse—Topics—Criminal Law, various resources are listed including Regulations, Secondary Sources, Forms, and Proposed & Enacted Legislation.

Criminal Procedure-Books of Interest

Criminal Procedure by Wayne R. Lafave; Jerold H. Israel; Orin S. Kerr; Nancy J. King
Call Number: KF9619.L342 2009
ISBN: 0314199365
Publication Date: 2009-08-28
“This is a seven-volume treatise analyzing every aspect of criminal procedure from pre-arrest investigation through pretrial, trial, post-conviction and on to appellate proceedings” (summary from Yale Law Library).
Constitutional Rights of the Accused by Joseph G. Cook
Call Number: KF9625.C66 1985
ISBN: 9802B
Publication Date: 2013
“This multi-volume set overviews the federal constitutional rights of persons accused or convicted of a crime” (summary from Thomson/West).
Search and Seizure by Wayne R. LaFave
Call Number: KF9630 .L26 2012
ISBN: 0314118136
Publication Date: 2012
“This six volume treatise provides extensive analysis of the fourth amendment by the leading scholar on this issue. LaFave interprets the Fourth Amendment in numerous factual situations, including the exclusionary rule, probable cause, search warrants, consent searches, as well as stop and frisk and lesser intrusions” (summary from Georgetown Law Library).
Understanding Criminal Procedure by Joshua Dressler; Alan C. Michaels
Call Number: KF9619 .D74 2013
ISBN: 0769862985
Publication Date: 2013-04-01
“This two-volume set breaks down criminal procedure into two distinct topics: investigation and adjudication. Volume I: Investigation focuses on the Fourth Amendment, arrests, searches and interrogations. Volume II: Adjudication covers the criminal process after the police investigation ends and covers right to counsel, pretrial release and detention, discovery, right to trial by jury, etc. Includes an index and tables of criminal rules, evidence rules, statutes and cases” (summary from Yale Law Library).
Wharton’s Criminal Law and Procedure by Ronald Aberdeen Anderson
Call Number: KF9219 .A5
Publication Date: 1957
This “expert resource provides essential coverage of the law by thoroughly analyzing common-law development and criminal procedure. Text traces statutory and judicial changes, as well as modifications, in common law” (summary from Thomson/West).