Skip to main content

Faculty Services: About the Law Library

A guide to services for Faculty at Texas Tech University School of Law Library

About TTU Law Library

The Texas Tech University School of Law Library (Law Library) is the largest legal information center in the area covering western Texas, eastern New Mexico, and southern Oklahoma. The Law Library and its staff serve the educational, instructional, and research needs of the Texas Tech University School of Law.

The Law Library collection contains over 400,000 volumes in books, treatises, periodicals, microforms, government documents, and other materials in law, social sciences, and other subjects. Additionally, the Law Library provides faculty free access to multiple full-text legal databases, including LexisNexis, Westlaw, Bloomberg Law, and other national databases. As part of a comprehensive research university, the Law Library works in conjunction with the University Library to provide faculty easy access to its respective collections and databases.

The Law Library’s website offers information and updates about library hours, staff, services, programs, and access to electronic databases.

Operating Hours

Effective at 5:00pm on Thursday, March 26th, the Law Building, including the law library, will close as part of the University's move to Phase IV of its response to the COVID-19 pandemic.  Students will not be allowed in the building during this time.  During this period, we will be offering remote services to our patrons.  While our in-person services are suspended, we will provide both Circulation and Reference Services via email and phone.

For assistance with Circulation Services, contact us between the hours of 8:00am and 5:00pm Monday through Friday via email or phone.

Email:  circulation.law@ttu.edu
Phone:  806-742-3957

For assistance with Reference Services, contact us between the hours of 8:30am and 4:30pm Monday through Friday via email or phone.

Email:  reference.law@ttu.edu
Phone:  806-742-7155

Reference Services

On-call, in-person Reference Services will be limited until further notice, but we will continue to provide Reference Services by email and phone.  We can also set up virtual reference appointments.  To set up a virtual appointment,please contact us at 806-742-7155 or reference.law@ttu.edu

Our Reference Team is happy to help you find materials related to your research questions.  For assistance with legal research or using electronic resources, please contact us at 806-742-7155 or reference.law@ttu.edu.  Phone and email will be monitored between 8:30am and 4:30pm Monday through Friday.  We will respond to any requests outside these hours the next weekday.

Circulation Services

The Circulation Desk will be closed until further notice, but we will continue to provide Circulation Services with limited patron interaction.

Checking Out Print Materials
Print materials will no longer be checked out of the law library. Fortunately, Texas Tech has a robust set of online resources between the law library's holdings and main campus materials.  Please contact a reference librarian for help identifying a comparable electronic resource to meet your needs.

Library Guides and Catalogs